Call Now

Kuvempu University

Updated on: Mar 7, 2013
Kuvempu University in Shimoga was established in 1987. It  is one of the youngest affiliating Universities in Karnataka. The University offers 50 Post-Graduate departments of studies in the faculties of Arts, Science, Commerce, Education and Law. The University has 133 affiliated colleges under its jurisdiction spread over 4 districts of Shimoga, Chitradurga, Chikmagalur and Davanagere. Kuvempu also has four constituent colleges and outlying regional Post-Graduate centre at Davanagere.

The University conducts a centralized admission system of counseling. The University offers five year integrated courses in the fields of M.Phil and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.). Various other disciplines relating to the main branch of knowledge studied for Master’s degree are also offered.


Jnana Sahyadri, the main campus of Kuvempu University is located at Shankaraghatta at a distance of 28 kms from Shimoga town. The campus is only 2 kms from the magnificent Bhadra Reservoir across the river Bhadra. The main buildings of the University have been constructed on a small hillock. The campus spans over an area of 230 acres.

  • Library
  • Reading Room
  • Laboratory
  • Instrumentation Lab
  • Hostel
  • Boat Club
  • Sports
  • Canteen
  • Playground
  • Auditorium

For further Information related to Kuvempu University, click on the links provided below:
Subscribe to our newsletter